Mindfulness in the Outdoors – The Outdoor Teacher Journal

As an experiential outdoor educator I’ve made it a practice to incorporate reflective activities with my students.   This could be writing in their journals, reporting back on how they felt or what they learned during a particular activity, or in some cases sitting quietly for a mindfulness moment. Taking the time to reflect on a particular lesson or activity is a way for me to stretch my students thinking in new ways and deepen their experience of learning outdoors.

In May of 2017 I wrote an article for The Outdoor Teacher journal titled “Mindfulness and Experiential Outdoor Education.”  As someone who has a personally felt the benefits of yoga and meditation in my own reflections as an educator, I am interested in incorporating mindfulness and relaxation into student reflection as a way to compliment the process of learning. After I receive my 200hr Yoga Alliance Certification this summer, I would like to consider how I might integrate mindfulness and yoga into afterschool programs with children.

Below is a link to The Outdoor Teacher journal article:

http://teachers.thinkoutside.org/index.php/toolbox/23-instruction/569-mindfulness-and-experiential-outdoor-education

 

 

Leave a Reply

